

05th Dec, 2020

Pokhriyal lauds IIT-Bhubaneswar for teaching excellence

POST NEWS NETWORK

Bhubaneswar, Dec 4: Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank' Friday complimented the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bhubaneswar for the outstanding wellness, teaching excellence and research aura the institute has created. The IIT-Bhubaneswar celebrated its Ninth Convocation Friday on virtual mode amidst the pandemic scenario across the globe.

The Union minister graced the occasion via videoconferencing as the chief guest of the event and delivered the convocation address. MoS, Education, Sanjay Dhotre attended the ceremony online as guest of honour. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT-Bhubaneswar presided over the function online. IIT-Bhubaneswar Director RV Raja Kumar presented the director's report and conferred degrees on graduating students.

Pokhriyal said the National Education Policy-2020 (NEP) will transform India into a knowledge superpower and a global leader in learning as it links the past with the future. "Armed with the New Education Policy, India will once again emerge as a global leader in learning and a knowledge superpower as it connects our past with the future. Our diversity and ability to blend

ancient and modern systems will again take us to the top," the minister said.

He said the new policy will enable Indian students to grow and excel in all spheres of life and the country will emerge as a provider of employment and no longer remain a job seeker.

The minister also stressed on the need to focus on linking India's talent with patent as it will play a significant role in the economic development of the country.

He expressed confidence that the students will contribute by innovations and research while fulfilling the dream of Prime Minister's visionary program 'Atmanirbhar Bharat'.

Pokhriyal inaugurated student activity centre, play courts, and the School of humanities, Social Sciences and Management of the IIT.

The President of India Gold Medal was awarded to Aditya Pal of the Computer Science and Engineering for best academic performance among the entire outgoing B Tech batch of students. The Director's Gold Medal was awarded to Sanket Dey Chowdhury of the School of Infrastructure for best academic performance. Director's Gold Medal was conferred on Souvick Chakraborty of Physics domain.